#6 Acura Team Penske Acura DPi, DPi: Juan Pablo Montoya, Dane Cameron

Montoya Added to Meyer Shank Racing DPi Lineup for Endurance Races

By Jeff Olson

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – Juan Pablo Montoya has been added to the Meyer Shank Racing stable for IMSA Michelin Endurance Cup races in 2021, the team announced Wednesday.

Montoya will join full-season drivers Olivier Pla and Dane Cameron in the team’s No. 60 Acura ARX-05 entry in the Daytona Prototype International (DPi) class for the four enduros next year – the Rolex 24 At Daytona on Jan. 30-31, the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring Presented by Advance Auto Parts on March 20, the Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen on June 27 and the Motul Petit Le Mans at Michelin Raceway Road Atlanta on Oct. 9.

Meyer Shank Racing previously announced Pla and Cameron as its full-season drivers, as well as 2012 Rolex 24 winner AJ Allmendinger to its lineup for the 2021 Rolex 24. Preparations for that season-opening event begin with the Roar Before the 24 on Jan. 22-24.

Montoya teamed with Cameron at Acura Team Penske for the past three seasons and won the 2019 IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship DPi title. Acura moved its DPi program to MSR and Wayne Taylor Racing following the 2020 season.

"I’m really excited to be joining Meyer Shank Racing next year," Montoya said. "I’ve always seen Mike (Shank, team co-owner) around the track, and we had a really simple, straightforward conversation to get this deal put together for next year."

Together, Montoya and Cameron combined for three victories during the past three seasons in the No. 6 Acura Team Penske entry.

"Dane and I have a really great relationship that has also turned into a friendship," Montoya said. "We both really understand each other and know what we need from each other to be competitive. I’m looking forward to continuing the relationship with him."

The 45-year-old Colombian has one of the most storied careers among active racers. He’s won the Indianapolis 500 twice, was an IndyCar season champion under CART sanction in 1999, won seven races in six Formula One seasons and was the NASCAR Cup Series Rookie of the Year in 2007.

A three-time overall winner at the Rolex 24 (2007, 2008, 2013), Montoya is looking forward to helping MSR win the iconic event for a second time.

"I’ve won at Daytona several times, but we have yet to score a victory with the Acura," Montoya said. "It would be great to get that first victory. I know that with the lineup that Mike has put together, we’re capable of doing that."