Skip to content
Racing Team Nederland 2022 Drivers

WeatherTech Championship 2022 Team Tracker, Vol. 2

By Mark Robinson


DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – United Autosports and Racing Team Nederland will each enter a Le Mans Prototype 2 (LMP2) for the four IMSA Michelin Endurance Cup events on the 2022 IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship schedule, beginning with the season-opening Rolex 24 At Daytona.


In addition to the Rolex 24 on Jan. 29-30, the other Michelin Endurance Cup races in 2022 are the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring Presented by Advance Auto Parts on March 19, the Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen on June 26 and the season-ending Motul Petit Le Mans on Oct. 1.


United Autosports Returns McGuire and Smith, Adds Hanson and Owen

#22: United Autosports ORECA LMP2 07, LMP2: James McGuire, Wayne Boyd, Guy Smith

Jim McGuire, Guy Smith and Phil Hanson will drive the No. 22 ORECA LMP2 07 in all four endurance races, joined by Will Owen at the Rolex 24. McGuire and Smith shared the No. 22 in three Michelin Endurance Cup races this season, with a best finish of third place at the Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen.


Hanson will be back in the WeatherTech Championship for the first time since 2018, when he drove a United Autosports LMP2 in three races including the Rolex 24 with Formula One drivers Fernando Alonso and Lando Norris. Owen also drove a United Autosports LMP2 in the 2018 Rolex 24, and most recently was a co-driver of the Juncos Racing Cadillac DPi for eight races in 2019.


“I am very excited to be returning with United Autosports to the IMSA endurance races next year,” said Smith, who has six career IMSA wins and returned to the series this season after being away since 2013. “I have really enjoyed this past year. It’s been a big learning curve for all of us, but I feel that we will be in a really good place to attack the 2022 endurance season.


“I am especially looking forward to making a return to Daytona, it’s been a long time since I raced there, luckily finishing on the podium on multiple occasions. Driving with Jim again will be great, he’s been consistently improving throughout the season and hopefully we can carry that momentum into next year and start the 2022 season off strongly.”


Racing Team Nederland Building on WEC Title


Racing Team Nederland made its WeatherTech Championship debut this year at the Rolex 24, the Dutch team’s only series event to date. Team owner Frits van Eerd and co-driver Giedo van der Garde will be back for all four of the endurance races in the No. 29 ORECA, joined by up-and-coming American Dylan Murry. IndyCar Series driver Rinus VeeKay will be the fourth driver for the Rolex 24.


Racing Team Nederland captured the LMP2 ProAm title in this year’s FIA World Endurance Championship and finished eighth in class at the Rolex 24 after retiring early in the race.


“Since we won the world title in 2021, the timing of this new challenge is perfect,” van Eerd said. “I have loved racing in the wonderful FIA WEC, but I have always said that at some point I would like to take Racing Team Nederland to IMSA as well. I studied in the U.S.A. and attended IMSA races back then, so to now do these four famous IMSA races is really a dream come true for me. At the beginning of 2021, we did the Rolex 24 at Daytona already. That was a fantastic experience, and I am very happy to go back for the complete Endurance Cup series.”


Murry finished third in the WeatherTech Championship Le Mans Prototype 3 (LMP3) standings this season driving for Riley Motorsports, where he and co-driver Jim Cox accumulated five podium finishes in six races. VeeKay just completed his second IndyCar Series season, collecting his first win in May on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.


“It is great that I will get the chance to do the Rolex 24 At Daytona with Racing Team Nederland,” VeeKay said. “It has always been my dream to one day race together with Frits, who has been my loyal sponsor for many years already. I love it that this dream will now come true!”


Previous 2022 WeatherTech Championship Team/Driver Announcements


Daytona Prototype international (DPi)

Action Express Racing: No. 31 Whelen Engineering Racing Cadillac DPi-V.R, drivers Pipo Derani and Tristan Nunez (story here)

Chip Ganassi Racing: Two Cadillac DPi-V.Rs, drivers Earl Bamber, Sebastien Bourdais, Alex Lynn and Renger van der Zande (story here)

Meyer Shank Racing with Curb-Agajanian: No. 60 Acura ARX-05, drivers Oliver Jarvis, Tom Blomqvist and Helio Castroneves (story here)


Le Mans Prototype 2 (LMP2)

High Class Racing: ORECA LMP2 07, drivers Anders Fjordbach and Dennis Andersen (story here)


Le Mans Prototype 3 (LMP3)

Jr II Racing: No. 30 Ligier JS P320, drivers Ari Balogh and Garett Grist (story here)

Andretti Autosport: No. 36 Ligier JS P320, drivers Jarett Andretti, Josh Burdon, Gabby Chaves and Rasmus Lindh (story here)


GT Daytona Pro (GTD PRO)

BMW Team RLL: Two BMW M4 GT3 entries, drivers to be named (story here)

Corvette Racing: No. 3 Corvette C8.R, drivers Antonio Garcia, Jordan Taylor and Nicky Catsburg (story here)

Vasser Sullivan Racing: One Lexus RC F GT3, drivers to be named (story here)


GT Daytona (GTD)

Cetilar Racing: No. 47 Ferrari 488 GT3 Evo for IMSA Michelin Endurance Cup races, drivers Roberto Lacorte, Giorgio Sernagiotto, Antonio Fuoco and Alessio Rovera (story here)

Vasser Sullivan Racing: One Lexus RC F GT3, drivers to be named (story here)