Skip to content
Lst22 Na R6 00084 2022 11 03

Reger Earns Key Point in Lamborghini Super Trofeo North America Qualifying

He and Co-Driver David Staab Take a Five-Point Edge into Friday’s Am Class Doubleheader at Portimao, Portugal


By Mark Robinson


Race 1 Qualifying Results / Race 2 Qualifying Results


DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – Nikko Reger scored what could prove to be a pivotal championship point by taking Am class pole honors Thursday in qualifying for the Lamborghini Super Trofeo North America’s final doubleheader round of the 2022 season.


Reger, driving the No. 148 Precision Performance Motorsports, Lamborghini Palm Beach Lamborghini Huracán Super Trofeo Evo2 that he shares with David Staab, turned a lap of 1 minute, 44.682 seconds on the Algarve International Circuit in Portimao, Portugal, to claim the Am class pole for Friday’s second 50-minute race.


The Am class features the tightest championship battle among the three North American series classes still to be decided. The point earned by Reger expanded the gap he and Staab have to five points over Shehan Chandrasoma, driver of the No. 19 MCR racing, Lamborghini Austin Huracán.


In the ProAm class, John Dubets and Bryson Lew (No. 146 Precision Performance Motorsports, Lamborghini Palm Beach Huracán) maintained their 11-point advantage over stablemates Bryan Ortiz and Sebastian Carazo (No. 147 PPM Huracán). Dubets took class qualifying honors for Friday’s first race, with Ortiz doing the same for the second race.


In LB Cup, Slade Stewart (No. 114 Flying Lizard Motorsports, Lamborghini Newport Beach Huracán) held onto his championship lead despite sitting out qualifying after he crashed in practice earlier in the day. While the Flying Lizard crew worked feverishly to repair the car for Friday, Charlie Martin (No. 154 Dream Racing Motorsport, Lamborghini San Francisco Huracán) won the class pole for Race 1, with Fred Roberts (No. 189 NTE Sport, Lamborghini San Francisco Huracán) taking the top spot for Race 2.


Stewart leads Jon Hirshberg and Ofir Levy (No. 113 O’Gara Motorsport/Change Racing/US RaceTronics, Lamborghini Rancho Mirage Huracán) by nine points. With the pole point earned by Martin, she and co-driver Jason Keats are just 10 points back.


Kyle Marcelli and Danny Formal (No. 101 Prestige Performance with Wayne Taylor Racing, Lamborghini Paramus Huracán) have already clinched the Pro class title. Pole winners Thursday in that class were Patrick Kujala (No. 150 O’Gara Motorsport/Change Racing/US RaceTronics, Lamborghini Beverly Hills Huracán) and Nelson Piquet Jr. (No. 130 ANSA Motorsports, Lamborghini Broward Huracán).


Friday’s races start at 7 a.m. and 1:50 p.m. ET. Both will stream live on the Lamborghini Squadra Corse YouTube page. On Saturday and Sunday, the North American and European competitors will go head-to-head in a pair of races to determine the Grand Finals champions.