2024 06 12 Galstad Wgi 0623 270419

Entry List Notebook – Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen

The 56-Car Field Features 40 Drivers Who Have at Least One Class Win at the Race


By Mark Robinson


Entry List (Click here)


DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – It’s back to pure endurance racing next week for the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, and a return to another of the iconic U.S. road courses at Watkins Glen International. The Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen runs June 20-23 at the historic circuit.


Fifty-six cars are entered, with all four WeatherTech Championship classes in competition. The Sahlen’s Six Hours also serves as the third of five rounds in the IMSA Michelin Endurance Cup.


Here’s what you need to know heading into the race weekend:


Fast Facts

Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen

Watkins Glen International – Watkins Glen, New York

June 20-23, 2024

  • Race Day/Time:  Sunday, June 23 – 11:10 a.m. ET
  • USA Network Coverage: LIVE – 11 a.m.-2 p.m.
  • Streaming Coverage: LIVE – Flag-to-flag beginning at 11 a.m. on Peacock (in the U.S.) and IMSA.tv (outside the U.S.)
  • Qualifying Stream: Saturday, June 22 at 3:25 p.m. on Peacock (in the U.S.) and IMSA.tv (outside the U.S.)
  • IMSA Radio: Select weekend sessions live on IMSA.com and RadioLeMans.com; SiriusXM live race coverage begins Sunday, June 25 at 11 a.m. (XM 206, Web/App 996)
  • Circuit Type: 3.4-mile, 11-turn road course
  • Classes Competing: Grand Touring Prototype (GTP), Le Mans Prototype 2 (LMP2), GT Daytona Pro (GTD PRO), GT Daytona (GTD)
  • Race Length: 6 hours

Track Social Media:

Event Hashtags:  #IMSA, #Sahlens6HRS


WeatherTech Championship Track Records

  • GTP: Jack Aitken, Cadillac V-Series.R, 133.028 / 131.573 mph, June 2023 race; qualifying abandoned due to inclement track conditions (DPi track record: Tom Blomqvist, Acura DPi, 1:29.580 / 136.637 mph, June 2022)
  • LMP2: Gabriel Aubry, ORECA LMP2 07, 1:31.735 / 133.427 mph, June 2019 qualifying
  • GTD PRO: Connor De Phillippi, BMW M4 GT3, 1:44.755 / 116.844 mph, June 2022 qualifying
  • GTD: Loris Spinelli, Lamborghini Huracán GT3 EVO2, 1:44.430 / 117.207 mph, June 2023 qualifying


2023 Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen Winners

  • GTP: Connor De Phillippi/Nick Yelloly, No. 25 BMW M Team RLL BMW M Hybrid V8
  • LMP2: George Kurtz/Ben Hanley/Nolan Siegel, No. 04 CrowdStrike Racing by APR ORECA LMP2 07
  • LMP3: Gar Robinson/Felipe Fraga/Josh Burdon, No. 74 Riley Ligier JS P320
  • GTD PRO: Jack Hawksworth/Ben Barnicoat, No. 14 Vasser Sullivan Lexus RC F GT3
  • GTD: Frankie Montecalvo/Aaron Telitz/Parker Thompson, No. 12 Vasser Sullivan Lexus RC F GT3



  • The Whole Gang’s Back Together: The four classes of the WeatherTech Championship – GTP, LMP2, GTD PRO and GTD – will race together for the first time since the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring Presented by Cadillac more than three months ago.
  • Parity Rules in GTP Class: The top prototype class, GTP, has seen a different winner in each of the first five races this season. The No. 7 Porsche Penske Motorsport Porsche 963, winner of the season-opening Rolex 24 At Daytona, leads the class standings but has four pursuers all within 139 points heading to Watkins Glen.
  • Michelin Endurance Cup Resumes: The Sahlen’s Six Hours marks the third of five events making up the IMSA Michelin Endurance Cup, where drivers and teams rack up points separate from the season championship at designated junctures of each endurance race. Points at Watkins Glen (five for being in first place in class, four points for second place, three points for third and two points for all others) will be awarded at the halfway mark and conclusion of the six-hour race. The competition in the Michelin Endurance Cup is extremely close across the board, with no class leader up by more than two points.
  • Crowdstrike Endurance, Teamwork and Speed Award: This rewards the team that posts the quickest combined times of their best qualifying lap and fastest race lap for each driver. The winning team from Detroit earlier this month, the No. 7 Porsche Penske Motorsport Porsche 963, will be recognized in prerace ceremonies at Watkins Glen.


Who’s Hot?

  • 77 AO Racing Porsche 911 GT3 R: “Rexy” has been roaring of late. The car with the dinosaur-themed livery has won the last two GTD PRO races, allowing the team and co-drivers Laurin Heinrich and Seb Priaulx to take an 84-point lead in the standings over the reigning class champions, Ben Barnicoat, Jack Hawksworth and the No. 14 Vasser Sullivan Lexus RC F GT3.
  • 57 Winward Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3: Meanwhile, in the GTD class, Russell Ward, Philip Ellis and the No. 57 Mercedes have won three times in the first four races to build a commanding 213-point lead in the class.
  • 18 Era Motorsport ORECA LMP2 07: Though it’s been a while since they raced in March, the Era team is unbeaten in 2024 with wins in the Rolex 24 At Daytona and Twelve Hours of Sebring. Co-drivers Dwight Merriman, Ryan Dalziel and Connor Zilisch look to go 3-for-3 at The Glen.


Who’s Good Here?

  • Riley, Riley, Riley: The veteran team has won each of the last three years at the Sahlen’s Six Hours but those came in the Le Mans Prototype 3 (LMP3) class that is no longer part of the WeatherTech Championship. Riley and co-drivers Felipe Fraga and Gar Robinson will chase a fourth straight win in the race in the LMP2 class, while the third driver of the No. 74 Ligier JS P320, Josh Burdon, goes for his second straight victory.
  • Vasser Sullivan: Last year, the team swept victories in the GT classes, with Ben Barnicoat and Jack Hawksworth wheeling the No. 14 Lexus to the GTD PRO win while Frankie Montecalvo, Aaron Telitz and Parker Thompson copped the GTD win in the No. 12 Lexus. The identical lineups are back in search of a repeat.