Skip to content
Carbahn With Peregrine 12102021

WeatherTech Championship 2022 Team Tracker, Vol. 3

CarBahn with Peregrine Switches to Lamborghini, Pairs Westphal and Megennis


By Jeff Olson


DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – Jeff Westphal will return to CarBahn Motorsports with Peregrine Racing with a new car, a new teammate and a different approach.


Robert Megennis will join Westphal in the team’s Lamborghini Huracán GT3 EVO in the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship GT Daytona (GTD) class when the 2022 season begins next month.


The move from Audi to Lamborghini and a fulltime GTD effort comes after the team’s sixth-place finish in the IMSA WeatherTech Sprint Cup Championship in 2021. Peregrine Racing won the IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge championship in 2019.


“We got our feet wet in the IMSA Sprint Cup for 2021 and now we are moving into the full IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, meaning that we add the crown jewels of sports car racing to the list — the Rolex 24 At Daytona, the Twelve Hours of Sebring, Motul Petit Le Mans and Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen,” Westphal said.


The only American to win the pole position for the Nurburgring 24, Westphal joins Megennis, who competed in three GTD races for Vasser Sullivan Racing in 2021 while also racing for Andretti Autosport in Indy Lights.


Meanwhile, the team will move its GTD program from an Audi R8 GT4 to a Lamborghini Huracán GT3 EVO. Lamborghini, which won the GTD manufacturer championship in 2018 and 2019, has won 10 GTD races since 2016.


“(It’s) a brand with an aggressive and proven platform in years past that we’ll carry into the coming years,” Westphal said. “This team has such a talented core group of individuals, and I know we are all eager to put 110 percent effort into the full season of IMSA competition.”


Megennis was part of a podium finish at Motul Petit Le Mans last month at Michelin Raceway Road Atlanta, finishing third with Frankie Montecalvo and Zach Veach in a Vasser Sullivan Lexus RC F GT3.


“I’m eager to apply all that I’ve learned from racing in Indy Lights and from running the 2021 Michelin Endurance Cup to my first full year in sports cars,” Megennis said. “Peregrine is an amazing team, Lamborghini is an incredible manufacturer, and I cannot wait to partner with someone as talented and experienced as Jeff. I know everything is there for us to win races this year.”



IMSA testing , Daytona International Speedway, Daytona Beach, FL, December 2021.  (Photo by Brian Cleary/


Rebranded Magnus Moves to Aston Martin


Magnus Racing is changing its name – sort of – and moving from Acura to Aston Martin, and it’s having fun with the news.


This is how part of the news release from the team formerly known as Magnus with Archangel – now just Magnus Racing – read earlier this week:


“We’re excited to announce our epic new name for 2022: Magnus Racing.


“Yep. That’s it. Just Magnus Racing, the OG. We’re taking back the reins, and maybe we’ve aged a little bit, but like a fine wine, right? Right. To keep it fresh, not too oaky in flavor, and with lots of options for good old-fashioned British humour, you’ll find us next year in an Aston Martin.”


The team’s drivers – shaken, not stirred – will be named later.



Previous 2022 WeatherTech Championship Team/Driver Announcements


Daytona Prototype international (DPi)
Action Express Racing: No. 31 Whelen Engineering Racing Cadillac DPi-V.R, drivers Pipo Derani and Tristan Nunez (story here)

Chip Ganassi Racing: Two Cadillac DPi-V.Rs, drivers Earl Bamber, Sebastien Bourdais, Alex Lynn and Renger van der Zande (story here)

Meyer Shank Racing with Curb-Agajanian: No. 60 Acura ARX-05, drivers Oliver Jarvis, Tom Blomqvist and Helio Castroneves (story here)


Le Mans Prototype 2 (LMP2)
High Class Racing: ORECA LMP2 07, drivers Anders Fjordbach and Dennis Andersen (story here)

Racing Team Nederland: No. 29 ORECA LMP2 07 for IMSA Michelin Endurance cup races, drivers Fritz van Eerd, Giedo van der Garde, Dylan Murry and Rinus VeeKay (story here)

United Autosports: No. 22 ORECA LMP2 07 for IMSA Michelin Endurance Cup races, drivers Jim McGuire, Guy Smith, Phil Hanson and Will Owen (story here)


Le Mans Prototype 3 (LMP3)
Andretti Autosport: No. 36 Ligier JS P320, drivers Jarett Andretti, Josh Burdon, Gabby Chaves and Rasmus Lindh (story here)

Jr II Racing: No. 30 Ligier JS P320, drivers Ari Balogh and Garett Grist (story here)


GT Daytona Pro (GTD PRO)
BMW Team RLL: Two BMW M4 GT3 entries, drivers to be named (story here)

Corvette Racing: No. 3 Corvette C8.R, drivers Antonio Garcia, Jordan Taylor and Nicky Catsburg (story here); No. 4 Corvette C8.R for Rolex 24 At Daytona, drivers Tommy Milner, Nick Tandy and Marco Sorensen (story here)

Vasser Sullivan Racing: No. 14 Lexus RC F GT3, drivers Ben Barnicoat, Jack Hawksworth and Kyle Kirkwood (story here)


GT Daytona (GTD)
Cetilar Racing: No. 47 Ferrari 488 GT3 Evo for IMSA Michelin Endurance Cup races, drivers Roberto Lacorte, Giorgio Sernagiotto, Antonio Fuoco and Alessio Rovera (story here)

Vasser Sullivan Racing: One Lexus RC F GT3, drivers to be named (story here)

Wright Motorsports: No. 16 Porsche 911 GT3R, drivers Ryan Hardwick, Jan Heylen and Zacharie Robichon (story here)